Last year, California enacted SB 1343, amending California’s Fair Employment and Housing Act (FEHA) to expand employers’ sexual harassment training requirements. Previous law required employers with at least 50 employees to provide supervisors with two hours of sexual harassment prevention training within six months of hire and every two years thereafter.
Now, employers with five employees must provide 2 hours of sexual harassment training to their supervisors, and non-supervisory employees must receive 1 hour of training.
Both supervisors and non-supervisory employees must receive training by January 1, 2021.
After January 1, 2021, employees must be retrained once every two years. That means that all employees statewide must be retrained by January 1, 2023.
WHAT ABOUT SEASONAL EMPLOYEES?
There is also a new requirement for temporary or seasonal employees. Beginning January 1, 2020, for seasonal and temporary employees, or any employee that is hired to work for less than six months, an employer shall provide training within 30 calendar days after the hire date or within 100 hours worked, whichever occurs first. In the case of a temporary employee employed by a temporary services employer (as defined by the Labor Code), to perform services for clients, the training must be provided by the temporary services employer, not the employee.
• Part-time and temporary employees, plus independent contractors count toward the minimum employee count of five employees.
• Training must occur within six months of the employee starting the position (and every two years thereafter).
Questions or need to set up a training? We can help.